Holy Week Flashback

I wrote this last year during Lent for the church newsletter. Here is a reprint here as we enter the Holy Days of Holy Week.

Peace Lutheran Church
Natoma, Kansas

March, 2010

Go to Dark Gethsemane.
Why? Is something happening there? Why must I go when it is dark?

Go to Dark Gethsemane.
There is no need for me to go there. Let me go back to the mount of Transfiguration. Let me see Moses and Elijah once more; let me see You Lord in Your glory.

Go to Dark Gethsemane.
What about to Galilee or Samaria or Bethany? Those were some good times. Healings and teachings; signs and wonders. Yes, let me go there instead!

Go to Dark Gethsemane.
How about we try Jerusalem again? You know the last time we went there things just got out of hand. I bet if we went there again things would go much smoother.

Go to Dark Gethsemane.
The temple! That is where we must go. Every time I go to the temple and see the festivities and magnificent buildings, that really draws me closer to God. Besides, we need to make sure that those money changers and sellers did not come back and turn the temple back into a house of robbers.

Go to Dark Gethsemane.
You know I was thinking, let’s hear some more parables. The Prodigal Son; or the Sower and the Seed; or the Good Samaritan. Yes, those parables really showed us what our Heavenly Father is all about. Let us hear parables.

Go to Dark Gethsemane.
I cannot go now, the crowds are hungry Jesus. They want bread and fish to eat. And I heard there was a wedding, and it would be good to go there also because they might run out of wine and you certainly do not want that to happen.

Go to Dark Gethsemane.
Why must I go where I do not want? Why must I face that which troubles me?

Go to Dark Gethsemane.
No, Lord. There is pain and suffering there. I will not let You go there. I fear what they may do to You there. Let us stay here, away from there.

Go to Dark Gethsemane.
Fine. You go, but I will stay here.

Go to Dark Gethsemane.
Must I Lord?

Go to Dark Gethsemane.
I will go Lord. I will not go because it is what I want to do. I will not go because it is where I want to be. I will go because You also are going. I will go because that is where You desire I be. I will go Lord, because You have already endured the sufferings and the pain. I will go because that is where I will find You.

God Bless!
Pastor Schmidt

About revschmidt

An LCMS Pastor in North-Central Kansas
This entry was posted in Church Newsletter Articles, Church Year Devotions, Holy Week Devotions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

