My front yard

This is my article that was published today in The Plainville Times.

My front lawn is about ten percent grass and ninety percent weeds.  Needless to say, other then the regular mowing down of the weeds, I do not do much for my lawn.  And yet, it is always green.  No matter how dry it is, no matter how hot it is, that lawn is as green as a new green crayon.  Now I may not always have to mow it, but it is green regardless.

Who takes care of those weeds?  Who sends the moisture, whether it be several inches or just a few drops?  Who provides the nutrients to give the plants life?  I can guarantee you that it is not me.  It is the Lord.  Those weeds live, not because anyone takes care of them, but because the Lord Himself provides for them.

Now you may be saying to yourself, who cares about a bunch of ugly weeds?  And you would be exactly right.  No one cares about those weeds, except God, and He is the one, and the only one, who keeps them alive.

And if God cares about those weeds, how much more does He care for and provide for you?  Because who are you in comparison to those weeds?  God formed you in His own image; God sent His prophets and apostles to deliver to you His Word and His gifts; God sent His very own Son, Jesus Christ, into the world to suffer and die and rise again for you.

If God, out of His merciful goodness and loving kindness is going to keep those weeds alive through the hottest and driest summers, then how much more is He going to provide for you when you are hurting?  How much more will He care for you when you are in trouble?  How much more will He care for you, whom He has called to be His own in the waters of Holy Baptism?

God cares for those weeds that are here today and gone tomorrow when I mow them over; and He cares for you, who are here today, and one day will be with Him for all time in Paradise.

About revschmidt

An LCMS Pastor in North-Central Kansas
This entry was posted in Pastors Corner Articles. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My front yard

  1. Kathleen Williams says:

    I love this. God’s goodness brings tears to my eyes. I think of it so often. Daily in prayer. I know He has a plan for me to be carried to heaven in His arms. Amen.

Leave a Reply

