That’s my manger box! – An Advent Series

advent series

Greetings to you!

Last year I preached what I believe to be a unique Advent series at the congregations I serve.  The idea can be found here in a newsletter article, but to summarize, the series looks at the 4 animals that are in most Nativity Scenes.  While there is no historical reasoning for these 4, nor are any animals specifically mentioned in St. Matthew 1 or St. Luke 2, the series examines how each of these animals point us in their own unique way to the Christ child who lies in the manger.

Here is an outline of the series, as well as the sermons:

Series outline

Advent 1 – The Cow

Advent 2 – The Donkey

Advent 3 – The Camel

Advent 4 or Christmas Eve/Day – The Sheep

I pray that this series would be a blessing to you and to your congregations as we anticipate the annual celebration of the birth of the Christ child.

God Bless!

Pastor Michael Schmidt

About revschmidt

An LCMS Pastor in North-Central Kansas
This entry was posted in Church Year Devotions, Preaching Series, sermons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s