Thoughts from home on the March For Life

Each year, I watch a series of events and hope that one day I am fortunate enough to have the privilege of attending.  This list includes, but is not limited to, the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade, the Rose Bowl Parade, a World Series game, and a NASA space shuttle launch.

What is not on that list, and what actually prompts the writing of this post, is the annual March For Life.

Now you might say, oh, well Michael doesn’t want to go because it is too cold, or there is too much walking, or that it is in Washington DC and who wants to go there?

Far from it.  Truth be told, I would be honored to attend the March For Life, would consider it a privilege to attend and lend my voice, my feet, my presence to such an important cause, for there is no more important cause then advocating for the cause of the value of life from conception to natural death.

But that is what makes attending the March For Life different from attending the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade or a World Series game.  Parades and games are held with the anticipation that there will be another one next year.  As soon as the final out is made, as soon as Santa enters Herald Square, plans are already being made for next year.

The March For Life is held each year and every year with the hope and the anticipation that next year we will not need to gather and raise our voices on behalf of the cause, for the world will have woken up to the horrors of abortion, and confessed the value of life from conception to natural death.

I hope I never get to attend the March For Life, not because I do not believe in the cause, I most certainly do believe in the cause.  I hope I never get to attend, because this cause will have been completed, this cause will have fulfilled its purpose; this cause will have drawn attention to the matter, educated the masses, and made clear to one and all, that every life is precious in the eyes of our Father who is in heaven, and therefore every life is to be precious in our eyes as well.

I pray that one year, as the March For Life comes to a conclusion, the organizers go home and do not make plans for next year, because the battle will have been won.

If the opportunity presents itself, then yes, I will make every effort to make my way to Washington DC on January 22 and stand in the cold and the snow to lend my voice, my feet, my presence to call for an end to the slaughter of innocents in the womb, for the value of every life from conception to natural death, for the firm and certain truth that every life is precious in God’s eyes.

And I will stand there with the prayer that there will not be a need for a march next year.

About revschmidt

An LCMS Pastor in North-Central Kansas
This entry was posted in LCMS Observations, Observations on Society, Pastors Corner Articles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

